top of page

Penang My Hometown

A picture story of Penang my hometown. Penang, the Pearl of the Orient, north west of the Malayan peninsula. Penang is an island linked to the mainland of Malaysia by the Penang Bridge and the ferry service from Weld Quay. It is well known for its relaxed lifestyle and fabulous hawkers food.


What I fear for Penang and indeed the whole of Malaysia, is Malaysia falling behind the rest of Asia as a result of mis-government and corruption. Malaysia which once used to the sought after place for education from other Asean countries is no longer sought after and fallen dramatically in its education standards. I will always be a Malaysian at heart and hope that the mess that Malaysia is currently in get sorted out in some way or another. Malaysia cannot afford for the current corruption and disparity of other ethnicities to continue. There should be a Malaysia for all Malaysian with equal opportunities open to all Malaysians irrespective of race or ethnicities. If this can be achieved I believe Malaysia will once again become a leader in the Asean region and looked upon with high respect from other Asean countries. The youth of Malaysia should be provided with equal opportunities in education and career irrespective of ethnicities to motivate them to succeed within Malaysia and to prevent the brain drain from Malaysia.


It is your personal choice to visit my blog and to read this posting of Penang My Hometown. It is not meant to be derogatory, judgemental, racially provoking in any manner. It saddens me to see the continued decline of Malaysia. It is not my intention to provoke any racial divide but I plea to all Malaysians to be as one (all Malaysians without any division).I can only do my part by sharing and airing my opinion as I now reside oversea. The rest is up to all Malaysians in Malaysia to take proactive approach in the development of Malaysia.


At my age, I do not have any angst nor negativity as some people may put it. I do not look at the world with rose tinted glasses and prefer to see the reality. Staying silent and burying heads in the sand will not bring about any change for the better. For far too long, too many have had the mindset of not rocking the boat, not making trouble for themselves and just carrying on and surrendering by saying "nothing can be done". That's what the older generation said and it seems the current older generation is just the same. I hope the younger generation of other ethnicities do not have to leave their home and country to seek better opportunities in life and career.


Take a moment to think and thank you for reading. As you can see from the photos, Malaysia can be such a wonderful and beautiful country so rich in its multiculturalism and ethnicities.












bottom of page